Note: This article is intended primarily for users on an Enterprise plan as Access control features are only available to them. In this article, we refer to projects, folders and other resources as objects.

Access control features help you to control what users can do within your workspace. Use Access levels, User roles, and Share settings to define user access.

Note that regardless of Access control features, any workspace user can use discovery tools such as Site Explorer or Keywords Explorer with their targets of choice.

Access levels

Access levels determine which workspace settings and objects individual users are allowed to access.

  • The Guest level only has access to objects explicitly shared with them.

  • The Member level has access to objects explicitly shared with them plus objects shared with the “All workspace members” group, and can create new objects.

  • The Admin level has access to all objects in the workspace and can manage workspace settings, subscription, and users.

  • The Owner level has the same permissions as the Admin level. It is automatically assigned to the person who initially registered for the account, and cannot be changed from within Ahrefs.

A user’s access level must be defined when inviting them to the workspace. This level can be changed at any time from Account settings > Members.

Members

User roles

User roles define users’ permissions in regards to a particular object. For now, there are only two user roles. The Viewer role will be coming soon.

  • Editors can change object settings and shared access.

  • Object owners can also transfer ownership and delete the object.

Note that since the Viewer role is not yet available, all users with the Guest or Member access levels are granted the Editor role. Users with the Owner and Admin access levels are granted the same permissions as object owners, which allows them to change object owners and delete objects.

Share settings

Share settings allow you to manage access to a particular object. An object can be:

  • Private – only the Object owner has access to the object.

  • Shared with “All workspace members” group – all users with the Member access level have access to the object.

  • Shared with individual people – only certain people invited to your workspace will have the project on their dashboard and can access it.

To access Share settings, click on the Share button on the right side of a project card or on the right side of the header for folders.

Share settings

Sharing objects with Guests

Note that in order to share a project or a folder with a user who has the Guest access level, they must be explicitly added to the “Shared with” list. This is true even if the object is shared with the “All workspace members” group, because Guests are not included in that group.

Sharing with Guests

Admin view settings

Note that regardless of Share settings, users with the Owner and Admin access level can view and access all workspace objects, including private ones, from their Dashboard by changing their Admin view settings.

Admin view settings

Folders and inherited access

You can use folders to organize your projects. Note that when you share a folder with someone in your workspace, all projects and sub-folders nested in that folder automatically inherit their share settings from its parent.

Search history and keywords lists

At the moment, search history and keywords lists are shared between all users in your workspace. The only exceptions are users with the Guest access level, who have no access to keywords lists. We have plans to work on adding Access control features to these in the future.

Did this answer your question?